Just a Touch: The Atria Indie Author 2014 Sampler

Justatouch

I received the Atria sampler from Netgalley for an honest review.

My Rating: 4 stars

Sweet Thing By Renee Carlino

” Maybe your early twenties are about wearing daisy dukes,withdrawing from a zillion college courses,changing your major five times,one night stands,Alcohol poisoning, having sex with your neighbor while his girlfriend watches,dating a distant cousin, bad credit or bad eye shadow” I realize Lauren was exaggerating but man she must have been wild. Right after this quote it talks about settling down and making life choices like children and marriage after twenty five so I know what point she was trying to make. I couldn’t get into this one and it’s not because of that issue , I just wasn’t drawn in.

Rush too far by Abbi Glines

” They say that children have the purest hearts. That children don’t truly hate,because they don’t understand the emotion. They forgive and forget easily. They say a lot of bullshit like this because it helps them sleep at night. It makes for good heart warming stories to hang on their wall and help them sleep at night. I know differently . Children love like no one else. They love more fiercely then anyone else. That much is true. That much I know. By the age of ten, I knew hate and I knew love . Both all consuming. Both life alterating. And both completely blinding. ”

I’m not a huge fan of Abbi Glines writing style. I know, Dont Shoot me ! She has a major fan base but from what I’ve read comes across as too much white trash drama combined with too much cussing and it’s a major turn off for me.

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

The only book I’ve read by Collen Hoover is Maybe Someday and I really enjoyed that one. I already have Ugly Love , I actually pre-ordered it but haven’t read it yet. I loved the sample so much and this made me want to get off my butt and finish this amazing book. I love Collen Hoover already and I think Ugly love is going to be full of so many emotions like Maybe Someday was.

Beautiful Oblivion By Jamie McGuire

I didn’t get into the sample but I haven’t read any of her other books and I was pretty clueless to who the characters where. Every other sentence was a different person mentioned it felt like to me and I felt a disconnect from what was going on right off the bat.

Collide by Gail Mchugh

I hadn’t heard of this book before but I loved the sample and I’m looking forward to finishing it.

Unteachable by Leah Raeder

I couldn’t get into the sample

Desert Heat by Elizabeth Reyes
I Couldn’t get into the sample

Working it by Kendall Ryan

I’m new to Kendall Ryan’s books but this seems like such a sexy read. I loved it and will check out the rest of her books also.

Five ways to fall

I’ve only read Tiny tiny breaths so far and it’s one of my favorite books. I need to read the previous books before this one but this gave me a sneak peak at what to look forward to .

Jane’s Melody

I was turned off by the fact that daughter that died was a druggie slouch that couldn’t get her life together. Not to be cruel and I Kn
ow Jane was battling with conflicting emotions over what should have happened and what she could have done differently.

I may not have liked all of the samples but I did enjoy reading through all of them .

Leave a Reply

