A Death Struck Year by Makiia Lucier

A Death Struck Year

My Rating: 5 stars

I received this book from first reads for a honest review. I loved the character of Cleo she showed a lot of maturity, strength and kind heartedness. “You wonder why I stay” I said.”Sometimes I wonder too. But I hate to think of a child , of anyone really, lying somewhere sick and scared , waiting for help that does not come.” This is my favorite quote and says a lot about Cleo’s personality and what she has been through. I thought it was interesting that Cleo was reading a book in the beginning about famous american women and wondering what achievement or career she could have so that she would be influential womanan and then she  has a profound impact on fighting the spanish influenza epidemic .This book also shows that you can tell a lot about a person during a crisis. Whether they go out of their way to help a stranger or desert their own family because of their illness. The ending did leave me wondering what is in store for Cleo in the future. Who will she marry? Will she go on to have a career in the medical field?

Leave a Reply

