A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller

amadwickedfolly

My rating: 4 stars

“A strange thing, words. Once they’re said, it’s hard to imagine they’re untrue.”
Sharon Biggs Waller, A Mad, Wicked Folly

“Then I knew: this wasn’t just a passion I felt for my model. My feelings about him had nothing to do with how his looks inspired me; he was far more than a muse. With every stroke of pencil and crayon, I had drawn Will into my heart.

I was in love with him.”
Sharon Biggs Waller, A Mad, Wicked Folly

I did enjoy this overall but it was a bit slow paced in parts. Vicky is ostracized for taking her clothes off in front of men for her art class. Vicky goes out of her way to prove that she is not one of those ” kittens and fruit painting female artists” her favorite thing to draw/paint is the nude form. Vicky also had a passion for the pre- raphaelites and a certain mermaid painting. This was well written I do enjoy some paintings but I’m not a huge art person and even I felt wrapped in early 1900’s art world of London.

I adored Will from the beginning . He’s such a sweetheart. Vicky’s fiancee was aloof and disrespectful to her at some parts so he gets no love here. I loved the ending and enjoying reading through the historical notes at the end.

” Do You love to draw people in the buff”
“I do. I love it.”
“Why”
” There is something about it that makes me feel like a real artist, like I’m not pretending” . I don’t know if you feel this when you write ,but so many times my head is filled with voices telling me I’m only playing at being an artist. But all of those leave me when I draw the nude form . I don’t know why”

Leave a Reply

