Amity by Micol Ostow

amity

I received an arc from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: 2 stars

“Here is a house of ruin and rage, of death and deliverance,
seated atop countless nameless unspoken souls.
Here is where I live, not living.
Here is always mine.”

Amity has a way of psyching out the people that live there based on the individual. The story is told from dual perspectives of the twins Gwen and Conner and spans the time frame of 10 years. There was a mild creep factor of blood flowing from faucets and ghosts with a gun shot wound to the head appearing in mirrors .
“She was a part of me, Amity. Growing, gaining power, every day. Amity wanted me.
And I welcomed her in.” Conner is drawn to the evilness of Amity and Gwen is scared and wondering whether she’s really crazy. I lost interest in parts but I was interested enough to keep reading and wanting to find out what was going to happen.

The Buried by Shelley Coriell

I received an arc from Goodreads First to read in exchange for an honest review.

“Secrets from the past.
Voices from the grave.
Because nothing stays buried forever…”

My rating: 5 Stars

the buried
Grace Courtemanche is a lawyer that receives a phone call from a woman named Lia Grant claiming to be be buried alive. FBI agent Theodore Hatcher “Hatch” part of the apostles and Grace’s ex husband. Grace soon finds out that she’s part of a sick game where The Grave Digger is putting lives at stake in order to prove a point to Grace. I was constantly guessing whether the apostles and Grace would be able to figure out who The Grave Digger is and save the third victim’s life. I had my doubts about whether Lou Poole was sane enough to get any relevant information out of but she was very helpful in helping to solve the case.

I loved the romance between Grace and her ex husband Hatch and I’m glad they worked things out.I’m really looking forward to reading the next book.